Tis the Season

Christmas has finally returned for another family-filled, food-filled and fun-filled couple of days. And seriously I feel as if it has arrived so much faster this year than previous years. As one of my customers said at work, “as you get older, the years go by faster,” and I have realised that this is more true than I thought possible! This year for instance has come and gone so quickly if feels like only yesterday when I was still ‘studying’ for finals (thank goodness though that I’m free from uni until next March HEHE). Anyways I have prepared a little taste of what my Christmas looks like as well as a special Christmas outfit for you guys, so please enjoy!

Christmas to me has always meant family gatherings, large meals, Christmas mass and of course Christmas carols. Surprisingly, I have a renewed love for Christmas carols and just the thought of everyone coming together and singing with so much energy and fun brings me such joy. Like recently at the CASS Christmas party (mentioned in my last post), a group of us sang carols with guitars playing and harmonies ringing. Everyone was smiling and joining in and it’s such a warm feeling being there in the moment.

Another Christmas tradition I grew up with is my Godparent’s Christmas-Eve party where families come together to celebrate. I unfortunately only get to see everyone once a year at this party because they’re not my blood relatives but catching up is always fun. At this party there is always a scrumptious selection of Christmas meals complete with ham and jam and turkey (no need to worry about getting midnight snack cravings!)

17

Christmas family dinner

After dinner, the young kids prepare a re-enactment of the birth of Jesus Christ. And yours truly played Mary. It’s interesting to see that as everyone gets older, the roles get handed down to the younger generations. For instance I played the Angel when I was younger and my brother played the Little Drummer Boy. These roles were passed down to the younger children last night and my brother was promoted to Joseph HEHE. After the play we sang Christmas carols and enjoyed some desserts before leaving for the night.

This year as well, I watched as the little kids opened their presents and I felt like a child with them! Seeing them rip open the wrapping paper and seeing their faces light up from the goodies underneath was so nostalgic. As I get older, wrapped presents become less of the norm and “Red Packets” become the easier option for relatives to give. So being there in the moment with them definitely brought back good memories.

For my actual Christmas day, this started off with a Christmas mass at my usual cathedral and a roast lunch made by my dad! Seriously the roast pork was en point hehe. Later in the day, I headed off to a friend’s party which was a great way to spend my Christmas with both FAMILY and FRIENDS.

18

Sausages straight from the bbq

19

Asian roast lunch complete with rice hehe

And now for the Christmas outfit special that I wore for the Christmas-Eve party. I went for a red and black patterned maxi skirt that I thought was quite festive. I matched this with a plain black tee and a simple chain necklace. For my hair, I plaited my damp hair in the morning and let it remain tied until the moment I was getting ready for the party (this meant that they were tied up for about 4-5hrs). This allowed me to create a wavy effect without the trouble of curling my hair or using heat (yay for lazy methods), and finally I set the waves with some hairspray (otherwise my hard earned curls would be straight within the hour).

16

5-2And there you have it, my Christmas in a nutshell and a sweet-as blueberry cheesecake outfit to go with it! Hope you all have a very Merry Christmas and enjoy it with family and friends! Let me know how you celebrate your Christmas/holidays!sign off

2 thoughts on “Tis the Season

Leave a comment